Hospital Medicine- Content Blueprint

Note: Because of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) publication, NCCPA will adapt its content blueprints, disease and disorder lists, and psychiatry-related terminology within test questions to conform to DSM-5 classifications and diagnostic criteria for all of our examinations beginning in 2015, according to the following timeline:

CAQ Examinations administered from August 2015 to July 2016:
In these examinations, psychiatry-related terminology within test questions will include the DSM-5 terminology followed by the DSM-IV-TR terminology in parentheses. Example: illness anxiety disorder (hypochondriasis)

Based on delays in implementation of DSM-5 guidelines within the field of psychiatry, NCCPA will continue to present psychiatry-related terminology within test questions in the manner outlined above until further notice.

Within the content areas, the following Health Care Systems will be addressed:


  1. Stewardship of resources
  2. Co-management
  3. Transitions in care
  4. Quality/Patient safety
  5. Palliative care/Pain management
  6. Multimorbidity
  7. Perioperative care
  8. Drug safety
  9. Documentation
  10. Billing/Coding
  11. Ethical/Legal
  12. Preventative care
  13. Procedures

Hospital Medicine - Disease/Disorder List

To view a list of some of the diseases and disorders that may appear on the Hospital Medicine CAQ Examination, click here. Keep in mind that the list may not be all-inclusive of the topics covered on the exam.

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to access the PDF file.